Week old, but better than nothing.

Okay…so I have completely slacked off, big time. I had a crazy few weeks and all of a sudden I was so busy that neglected all of the lovely people that read this blog, and the blog in general.

I wrote this blog about a week ago and then failed to publish it because I fell asleep. So here it is:

This weekend has probably been one of the hardest weekends of my life: my boyfriend and I broke up and my one and only grandfather died. It’s been a complete and utter rollercoaster of emotions, and let me tell you it has sucked. Big time.

I’ve been using a lot of what I used to refer to as “distractions” this week especially: in other words spending a lot of time with friends and keeping busy. I’ve seen a friend of mine seven days straight so far, and plan to continue the streak. I also have other friends with three or four day streaks, but let’s be honest, thats not as impressive.

It wasn’t until this week that I looked at those “distractions” as life, instead of a distraction from life. What a refreshing view, to look at the moments of joy and laughter as life, instead of a temporary relief from life. Of course I didn’t reach this epiphany on my own. I was having a conversation with a close friend of mine, discussing the rough times I have been through lately, and I mentioned the distractions as a coping mechanism. He said something along the lines of this: “I think those moments of happiness and laughter are life, it’s the enoing at softball games and records of the day that make it worthwhile” (this is not an exact quote, but it was something like that). I thought that was absolutely beautiful, I know it made the world shine a little bit brighter that day.

One thought on “Week old, but better than nothing.

Leave a Reply

